Petroleum Open Day 2017

The annual Petroleum Open Day hosted by the Petroleum Division and the Geological Survey Division (GSWA) was held at the Hyatt Regency Perth on Friday 15 September 2017.

The day provided the department with an opportunity to update industry on developments, provide feedback to stakeholders and discuss future trends.

An extensive poster display and exhibits by PAWSEY supercomputing centre, Australian Marine Complex (AMC), Petroleum Exploration Society of Australia (PESA), National Energy Resources Australia (NERA), Western Australian Energy Research Alliance (wa:era) and Geoscience Australia, along with IT sessions for the Western Australian Petroleum and Geothermal Information Management System (WAPIMS) and the Petroleum Gateway, was on show.

Petroleum Open Day 2017 presentations

Throughout the day presentations were given by guest and Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (DMIRS) speakers. Topics included:

Presentation Presenter Organisation
Welcome and opening remarks Hon Bill Johnston Minister for Mines and Petroleum
Introducing the new Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety David Smith Director General, DMIRS
Vision for Petroleum 2020 Jeff Haworth Executive Director, Petroleum Division
Towards 2020 Simon Ridge Executive Director, Resources Safety Division
Petroleum 2020 legislative reform Colin Harvey Principal Legislation and Policy Officer, Petroleum Division
Five year acreage release strategy Denis Wills Director Petroleum Operations, Petroleum Division


Felicia Irimies Manager Petroleum Exploration Information, GSWA

Petroleum Gateway showcase

Mark Gabrielson General Manager Strategic Business Development, Petroleum Division
Environment 2020 Marnie Leybourne Acting General Manager Resources, Petroleum Division
Decommissioning Jason Medd Principal Policy Officer, Petroleum Division
AWE Waitsia Suzanne Hunt General Manager WA Assets and Engineering, AWE Limited
Source rock potential, Nambeet Formation, Canning Basin Louisa Dent Geophysicist - Geologist, GSWA
Interpretation of the Canning Coastal Seismic Survey Alex Zhan Senior Geophysicist, GSWA
Petroleum potential of the Centralian Superbasin Peter Haines Senior Petroleum Geologist, GSWA
Petroleum geochemistry and basin modelling, Perth Basin Ameed Ghori Senior Geologist, GSWA
Tubridgi Gas Storage Jon Cleary General Manager Commercial, Australian Gas Infrastructure Group



The presentation session was wrapped up with a panel discussion on 'Gas security in Western Australia', panel members included:

Tom Baddeley - Santos Limited (Facilitator)
Jeff Haworth – Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
Stedman Ellis - Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
Suzanne Hunt - AWE Limited
Jon Cleary - Australian Gas Infrastructure Group
Jenness Gardner - Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation

Pamphlets and posters from the event can be downloaded through the department’s eBookshop. WA Petroleum Day 2018 information is available on our website.

Petroleum Open Day Brochure - 1008 Kb

Brochure containing the program for the 2017 Petroleum Open Day