# MINING REHABILITATION ADVISORY PANEL

## COMMUNIQUE – 5/2022

A summary of the

Mining Rehabilitation Advisory Panel's Meeting on Thursday 29 September 2022

### 1. Introduction of new Mining Rehabilitation Advisory Panel

A new Panel of members have been appointed to MRAP as follows:

Member	Position
Renee Young	Chair
Angela Bishop	Deputy Chair (reappointed former member)
Vern Newton	Member
Naomi Hutchins	Member
Helen Chernoff	Member

The Panel consists of five members who will hold office for a term of three years. The new members were selected from a diverse range of applicants representing industry and peak industry groups. The new members were appointed on 10 August 2022 for a three-year period, which ends on 9 August 2025.

The Panel would like to acknowledge the fundamental contributions of the outgoing MRAP members Sally Audeyev, Michelle Rhodes, Andrew Cuthbertson and Kapila Karunaratna. The comprehensive administrative support, governance and knowledge provided by the panel was invaluable to further the important projects involved.

#### 2. Abandoned mines programme – Ellendale

The Panel noted the progress being made regarding the Ellendale deconstruction contract. The contract is progressing to schedule with over half of the scheduled works having been completed to date.

#### 3. Mining rehabilitation fund ten-year legislative review

The Panel acknowledged the upcoming ten-year legislative review of the *Mining Rehabilitation Fund Act 2012*, articulating its willingness to contribute to the review which will commence in early 2023.

#### 4. Funding arrangement challenges

The Panel acknowledged the recent funding arrangement challenges that have arisen as a result of historically low interest rates. The Panel discussed potential long-term



options to address such matters and is supportive of DMIRS progressing a variety of solutions into the future.

Renee Young Chairperson