DMP unveils new MRAP members

Independent experts will build on the success already achieved
Date: Wednesday, 23 March 2016

A new panel of independent experts has been appointed as part of the Department of Mines and Petroleum's (DMP) continued commitment to manage mine site abandonment across Western Australia.

Established under the Mining Rehabilitation Fund Act 2012, the Mining Rehabilitation Advisory Panel (MRAP) provides independent advice to DMP on matters related to management of the Mining Rehabilitation Fund (MRF) and the Abandoned Mines Program.

In December, the department published a notice calling for expression of interest from anyone interested in replacing MRAP's outgoing members.

The calibre of applications received was extremely high and the new Panel members were selected from a diverse range of applicants representing industry, research professionals and peak industry groups.

The new MRAP members are:

  • Michael Slight (Chairperson): A Mining Engineer with more than 35 years of experience in all phases of mining from feasibility, construction and development, production and expansion to mine closures. Mr Sight was reappointed to the Panel.
  • Phil Scott (Deputy Chairperson): An experienced environmental professional with 27 years of experience in corporate, resource and environmental management across a broad range of environmental, resource management, land access, planning and development areas. Mr Scott was reappointed to the Panel.
  • Sally Audeyev: A leading environmental lawyer who helps clients manage environment, government relations, tenure, planning and indigenous aspects of project development, implementation and closure.
  • Donald Burnside: A consultant with 40 years’ experience in investigation and management of agricultural and natural resource management issues at site, landscape and regional scale.
  • Michelle Rhodes: An environmental consultancy company director with 21 years' experience in the environmental sector and involvement in high level negotiations with a number of different regulatory authorities.

The new MRAP members have been appointed for a period of three years and replace the previous Panel which was established in December 2013.

DMP’s Executive Director Environment Dr Phil Gorey said he was sure that the new Panel would continue to build on the success achieved to date by the previous MRAP members.

"The outgoing MRAP members realised some fantastic achievements and I would like to thank them for their valuable contribution," Dr Gorey said.

"Over the past two years, members provided valuable leadership on governance arrangements for the inaugural panel.

"The panel also played an important role in development of the department’s Abandoned Mines Policy – a framework for managing and rehabilitating Western Australia’s abandoned mine sites.

"The outgoing MRAP members were also successful in reviewing and endorsing the timeframe for work to begin on the department’s five Abandoned Mines Program pilot sites.

"I’m confident the new panel members will build on the good work already achieved and continue to help bring about positive changes for the State."

For more information about MRAP visit the MRF webpage.