Sharing WA mining expertise with COMESA

DMP experts are in Africa for a series of workshops with COMESA countries.
Date: Thursday, 25 February 2016

Western Australia is sharing its mining knowledge with Ethiopia and Kenya as part of a series of capacity-building workshops being held in Addis Ababa and Nairobi this week.

Department of Mines and Petroleum Deputy Director General Dr Tim Griffin and Tenure and Native Title General Manager Mr Tony Bullen are in Africa to meet with representatives of member countries of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

COMESA members visiting Western Australia during the 2015 Africa Down Under conference.
COMESA members visiting Western Australia during the 2015 Africa Down Under conference.

Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Marmion said the workshops highlighted the progress made following the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed in 2014 between the State Government and COMESA.

"This is about helping COMESA nations build their economies and increase their living standards," Mr Marmion said.

"By sharing some of the department's collective knowledge, built up over more than a century of Western Australian mining, we hope they can develop viable resources industries."

The Minister acknowledged and thanked the Australian Government for supporting the initiative.

"This is very much a partnership with the Australian Embassy in Ethiopia and the Australian High Commission in Kenya, which have provided the funding and support to hold these workshops," he said.

The workshops will cover legislation, governance, geoscience, community engagement, financial benefits, and title, environmental and safety regulation.

"I am pleased the department is able to offer these services as a part of the MOU and encourage sustainable development of the resources industry within COMESA nations," Mr Marmion said.

The trip comes three months after a delegation from DMP and Murdoch University travelled to Kenya and Mauritius to take part in a number of formal meetings with government, industry and academic representatives over a 10-day period.