State Government halts fracking in the exploration and production of WA’s onshore gas

Part of election commitment to conduct scientific inquiry
Date: Tuesday, 05 September 2017

The State Government today announced its decision to implement a ban on fracking in existing and future petroleum titles in the South West, Peel and Perth metropolitan regions.

A moratorium has also been placed on fracking throughout the rest of mainland Western Australia.

"The State Government’s decision will prohibit companies from using fracking during exploration or production," Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (DMIRS) acting Executive Director Petroleum Denis Wills said.

The government is establishing a committee to conduct an independent scientific inquiry into fracking to be chaired by Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) chair Dr Tom Hatton. “The scientific inquiry will use credible scientific and historical evidence to assess each level of risk associated with fracking and outline regulatory mechanisms to identify and minimise potential risks to the environment, health, agriculture, heritage and the community,' Mr Wills said.

He said Western Australia has a comprehensive legislative framework that regulates oil and gas exploration and production in a manner that provides protection to the environment, community and workers.

DMIRS will continue to regulate the State’s petroleum sector to ensure the highest levels of safety, health and environmental standards are achieved in accordance with State legislation, regulations and policies.

Download the Hydraulic Fracturing Policy Statement, Map of the fracking exclusion areas.