Petroleum safety legislation

On 31 March 2022, the Work Health and Safety laws replaced the work health and safety elements of Petroleum Safety legislation.

All health and safety notifications, forms and guidance for mining and petroleum has moved to the WorkSafe website

Work health and safety legislation reform

The new Work Health and Safety Act 2020 (WHS Act) will replace the current Occupational Safety and Health Act 1984, and elements of the Mines Safety and Inspection Act 1994, the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Resources Act 1967, the Petroleum Pipelines Act 1969, the Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Act 1982, and the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Safety Levies Act 2011 that relate to work health and safety.

For further information, visit the Work health and safety reform website.

To stay up to date, subscribe to WorkSafe newsletters and DMIRS news alerts

What safety legislation applies to petroleum and geothermal energy operations?

There are eleven pieces of legislation that apply to onshore and offshore petroleum, pipeline and geothermal energy operations in Western Australia and include safety requirements.


Below is the list of links that you may find useful.


Below is the list of links that you may find useful.

Western Australian legislation is also available in hard copy format from the Parliamentary Counsel’s web site.

Other legislation

Legislation relating to dangerous goods may also apply to petroleum operations. Operators should be aware of their responsibilities under the dangerous goods safety legislation.

For further guidance, refer to Dangerous goods safety legislation

Introduction to the petroleum and geothermal energy safety legislation

Information sheets have been developed to provide general information on petroleum and geothermal safety legislation.

What about the petroleum and geothermal energy levies?

The legislation listed below provides the mechanism for collecting a levy to support regulatory activities associated with petroleum and geothermal energy safety.

Jurisdictional change to safety regulation authority in coastal waters

The responsibility for administering safety regulation in coastal waters – under the Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Act 1982 and attendant regulations – reverted to the department on 1 January 2012. This service had previously been provided by the National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority (NOPSA).

Safety documentation previously accepted by NOPSA remains accepted and in force until such time there is a legislative requirement for review.

The department’s Resources Safety Division has responsibility for the day-to-day administration of the occupational safety and health laws contained in the submerged lands legislation. This applies to:

  • all State coastal waters from the mean low water mark (MLWM) on the mainland to the 3 nautical mile limit
  • all offshore petroleum and diving operations, including vessels engaged in such activities.


Coastal waters operator register - 81 Kb

Coastal Waters Operator Register - Western Australia

Application for facility operator registration - 1578 Kb

Application for facility operator registration - Western Australia